Pennsylvania State Delegates

State Delegate


Photos


DUI Laws


NEW PENNSYLVANIA DUI LAWS

Pennsylvania has substantially re-written its laws relating to driving under the influence or controlled substances and have issued harsher penalties as a result. The elements of the new DUI law are:

(75 Pa.C.S. Section 3802) (a) – General Impairment – (1) An individual may not be in actual physical control of the movement of a vehicle after imbibing a sufficient amount of alcohol such that the individual is rendered incapable of safely driving, operating or being in actual physical control of the vehicle; (2) An individual may not be in actual physical control of the movement of a vehicle after imbibing a sufficient amount of alcohol such that the alcohol concentration in the individual’s blood or breath is at least .08% but less than .10% within two hours after the individual has driven, operated or been in actual physical control of the movement of the vehicle.

(75 Pa.C.S. Section 3802) (b) – High Rate of Alcohol – An individual may not be in actual physical control of the movement of a vehicle after imbibing a sufficient amount of alcohol such that the alcohol concentration in the individual’s blood or breath is at least .10% but less than .15% within two hours after the individual has driven, operated or been in actual physical control of the movement of the vehicle.

(75 Pa.C.S. Section 3802) (c) – Highest Rate of Alcohol – An individual may not be in actual physical control of the movement of a vehicle after imbibing a sufficient amount of alcohol such that the alcohol concentration in the individual’s blood or breath is at least .16% or higher within two hours after the individual has driven, operated or been in actual physical control of the movement of the vehicle.

(75 Pa.C.S. Section 3802) (d) – Controlled substances – An individual may not be in actual physical control of the movement of a vehicle under any of the following circumstances: (1) there is in the individual’s blood any amount of a (i) Schedule I controlled substance, as defined in the Controlled Substance, Drug, Devise and Cosmetic Act or (ii) Schedule II or Schedule III controlled substance, as defined in the Controlled Substance, Drug, Devise and Cosmetic Act which has not been medically prescribed for the individual or (iii) metabolite of a substance under paragraph (i) or (ii).

(75 Pa.C.S. Section 3802) (e) – Minors – A minor (an individual under 21 years of age) may not be in actual physical control of the movement of a vehicle after imbibing a sufficient amount of alcohol such that the alcohol concentration in the individual’s blood or breath is .02% or higher within two hours after the individual has driven, operated or been in actual physical control of the movement of the vehicle.

Refusal of Breath, Blood or Urine Test – If you refused to take a breath, blood or urine test after being arrested for DUI in Pennsylvania, your license will be suspended for a period of not less than 1 year and a 3 days mandatory incarceration. A person should take immediate action if chemical tests were refused. The arresting officer must forward Notice of Refusal (DL-26 Form), to inform Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) of driver’s refusal. Once received, PennDOT forwards order to driver that licence shall be suspended in 30 days from the date of correspondence. Driver has 30 days from correspondence date to appeal in a civil proceeding.

P E N N S Y L V A N I A D U I P E N A L T I E S

Pennsylvania has taken the position that a person’s Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) and the number of times the person has committed a DUI within the last ten years will dictate what punishment they will receive.

As of February 2, 2004 there are three categories a person will fall into based on the level of the alcohol in their system. There is
a) .08%-.099%
b) .10% – .159%
c) .16% and higher

Included in this category are refusal to submit to a test. All of the categories require a Court Reporting Network (CRN) evaluation; the first and second offenders require Alcohol Highway Safety. (AHSS). BAC .16 or higher and all subsequent offenses require a mandatory Drug and Alcohol (D&A) assessment and treatment. All second and subsequent offense requires the installation of an Ignition Interlock System.

FIRST OFFENSE (NO PRIOR PA DUI OFFENSES WITHIN THE LAST 10 YEARS)

BAC is .08% to .099%. This is an ungraded misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum probation and a $300.00 fine. Required CRN, AHSS and possible D&A. There is no loss of license and no jail time with this particular category.

BAC is .10% to .159%. This is an ungraded misdemeanor with a mandatory 48 hour imprisonment up to a possible 6 months and a $500.00 to $5,000.00 fine. Required CRN, AHSS and possible D&A. The license suspension is 12 months. However there is a possibility to get an Occupational Limited License (OLL) after serving a hard 2 month suspension.

BAC is .16% or higher or refusal to give a blood or breath sample. This is ungraded misdemeanor with a mandatory 72 hour imprisonment up to a possible 6 months and a $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 fine. Required CRN, AHSS and mandatory full D&A. The license suspension is 12 months. Also possibility for OLL after serving hard 2 months suspension.

SECOND OFFENSE

BAC is .08% to .099%. This is an ungraded misdemeanor with a mandatory 5 days imprisonment 6 month maximum jail sentence and a $300.00 to $2,500.00 fine. The license suspension is for 12 months. Required CRN, AHSS, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .10% to .159%. This is ungraded misdemeanor with a mandatory 30 days imprisonment 6 month maximum jail sentence and a $750.00 to $5,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 12 months. Required CRN, AHSS, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .16% or higher or a refusal. This is graded as a misdemeanor of the First Degree with a mandatory 90 days imprisonment 5 year maximum jail sentence and a $ 1,500.00 to $10,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 12 months. Required CRN, AHSS, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

THIRD OFFENSE

BAC is .08% to .099%. This is graded as misdemeanor of the Second Degree with a mandatory 10 days imprisonment 2 year maximum jail sentence and a $500.00 to $5,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 12 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .10% to .159%. This is graded as a misdemeanor of the First Degree with a mandatory 90 days imprisonment 5 year maximum jail sentence and a $1,500.00 to $10,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 18 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .16% or higher or a refusal. This is graded as a misdemeanor of the First Degree with a mandatory 1 year imprisonment 5 year maximum jail sentence and a $ 2,500.00 to $10,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 18 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

FOURTH OFFENSE

BAC is .08% to .099%. This is graded as misdemeanor of the Second Degree with a mandatory 10 days imprisonment 2 year maximum jail sentence and a $500.00 to $5,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 12 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .10% to .159%. This is graded as a misdemeanor of the First Degree with a mandatory 1 year imprisonment 5 year maximum jail sentence and a $1,500.00 to $10,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 18 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

BAC is .16% or higher or a refusal. This is graded as a misdemeanor of the First Degree with a mandatory 1 year imprisonment 5 year maximum jail sentence and a $ 2,500.00 to $10,000.00 fine. The license suspension is for 18 months. Required CRN, D&A and Ignition Interlock for 12 months.

 

Pennsylvania Department Of Transportation (PennDOT) - http://www.dot.state.pa.us/

www.paddda.com

 

6/12